Home > Planning Board > Hunterdon County Environmental Tool Box

The Hunterdon County Environmental Toolbox consists of a series of model ordinances for municipalities seeking to manage growth and ensure environmentally sound development.

The Hunterdon County Environmental Toolbox was created in 2002 by Freeholder Marcia Karrow as a means to develop science-based environmental ordinances for use by Hunterdon County municipalities. This was done in direct response to repeated requests for assistance from local officials across the County who were looking for tools to better manage growth and ensure environmentally responsible development. Although the Environmental Toolbox begun as an initiative for Hunterdon County municipalities, we believe that communities in many other parts of New Jersey will find these ordinances applicable.

The Environmental Toolbox was overseen by a Committee that included local officials, County and State agency representatives, land use attorneys, engineers, scientists, planners, landscape architects, foresters, and representatives from both the environmental and agricultural communities. The Committee reviewed and endorsed the ordinances created by nine subcommittees. Ordinances underwent thorough debate, revision, and scrutiny by diverse interests in order to ensure they were legally sound, scientifically valid and responsive to the concerns of the diverse interest groups that would ultimately be affected by them.

Download Model Ordinances

Environmental Toolbox Committee Members
  • Agriculture
    • Helen H. Heinrich, ASLA, New Jersey Farm Bureau
    • Liz Thompson, New Jersey Farm Bureau
  • County Officials
    • Marcia A. Karrow, Director, Hunterdon County Board of Chosen Freeholders
    • Nancy Palladino, Hunterdon County Board of Chosen Freeholders
  • Engineers
    • Marty Siecke, PE, CSP, CPEA, CEM
    • Tom Zilinek, Readington Township Engineer
  • Environment
    • Angela Clerico, Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association Donald Einhorn, Director, South Branch Watershed Association, Inc.Abbie Fair, Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions Wilma Frey, Highlands Coalition, New Jersey Conservation Foundation George Hawkins, Executive Director, Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association Noelle Mackay, Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association David Peifer, Executive Director, Upper Raritan Watershed Association Fran Varacalli, Former Director, South Branch Watershed Association, Inc.
    • Ben Witherell, Environmental Scientist, Raritan Township Environmental Commission
  • Law
    • Fred Allen, EsquireRichard Cushing, Esquire, Gebhardt & KieferJ. Peter Jost, EsquireJeremy Novak, Esquire, Novak and NovakJoe Novak, Esquire, Novak and Novak
    • Greg Watts, Esquire, Watts, Tice and Skowronek
  • Local Officials
    • Nancy Palladino, Committeewoman, West Amwell Township Tom Borkowski, Mayor, Clinton Township Ed Burdzy, Committeeman, Holland Township Dianne Clarke-Kudless, Committeewoman, Tewksbury Township Michelle D’Alessandro, Committeewoman, Franklin Township Cheryl Filler, Environmental Commission Chair, Readington Township Ken Johnson, Committeeman, Delaware Township Peter Kinsella, Committeeman, Raritan Township
    • Eileen Swan, Committeewoman, Lebanon Township
  • Natural Science
    • Greg Herman, Geologist, NJ Geological Survey Fred Kelly, Resource Conservationist, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service Matt Mulhall, Hydrologist, M2 Associates, Inc.Debbie Newcomb, Watershed Protection Unit, NJ Water Supply Authority Dave Pasicznyk, Geologist, NJ Geological SurveyAdam Stern, Hydrologist Chris Testa, Hunterdon County Soil Conservation District
    • Dan Van Abs, PH.D, AICP/PP, Manager, Watershed Protection Unit, NJ Water Supply Authority
  • Professional Planners
    • Caroline J.S. Armstrong, AICP/PP, Municipal Land Use Center, Former Director, Hunterdon County Planning BoardMichael Bolan, PP, Banisch Associates Donna Drewes, PP, Municipal Land Use Center, College of New Jersey G. Sue Dziamara, AICP, PP, Senior Planner, Hunterdon County Planning Board
    • John Kellogg, Former Director, Hunterdon County Planning Board

Model Ordinances

Latest Webpage Update
Provided by the Hunterdon County Planning Board on June 05 , 2006 .